Badminton, played with a racquet and a shuttlecock - a device made of rubber with a crown of feathers - is officially the fastest racquet sport in the world. Shuttlecock speeds have reached 332km/h so competitors need razor sharp reflexes to successfully hit it back and forth over a net.

The game is also a major test of fitness and stamina. Despite some similarities with tennis, which is played on a larger court, badminton players cover a greater distance during a match. They can cover anywhere up to 6km per match due to frequent long rallies.

At the top level, players use a combination of power and skill to win points. The overhead smash may be the crowd pleaser, but this shot can only be set up by more subtle strokes.

The dropshot or netshot is often used, while expert players learn to disguise their strokes to confuse their opponents.

Competition badminton is almost always played in an indoor environment to prevent the wind from affecting the flight of the shuttlecock. Badminton is also enjoyed outdoors, however, played in parks and back gardens all over the world.


Badminton is named after Badminton House, where the game was first played in England in the 1850s. However, badminton evolved from the ancient Chinese game of Ti Jian Zi, the first game to have used a shuttlecock. In a game of Ti Jian Zi, players used only their feet to stop the shuttlecock from touching the ground.

British children had played Battledore and Shuttlecock since medieval times, working together using Battledores (paddles) to keep the shuttle in the air. British soldiers in India modified this game into an adult competitive sport in the 19th century by introducing a net. The Bath Badminton Club published the first official set of rules in 1877 and the Badminton Association of England was formed 16 years later.

Badminton debuted as a demonstration sport at the 3rd Asian Games in Tokyo in 1958 and became a competitive event at the 4th Asian Games in Djakarta, Indonesia four years later.

Badminton featured as a demonstration sport at the Munich Olympics in 1972 and became an official Olympic sport at Barcelona in 1992.


Games begin with an underarm serve, with the first server decided by a coin toss. The server aims to clear the net and land the shuttlecock in the opposite service area. The opponent must return before it hits the ground.

The rally then continues until a player wins the point by hitting the shuttlecock onto the court on the opponent's side, or forces their opponent to hit the shuttlecock either into the net or out of play.

Badminton's scoring system changed in December 2005. Previously players could only score a point on their own service. Under the new "rally point" system, a player can gain a point even if they did not serve for that particular point.

Games are played up to 21 points. If each player reaches 20 points, the game continues until one player is two points ahead. If both players reach 29 points, the next point is the winner. Matches are decided on the best of three games.


 Badminton in Pakistan

Pakistan Badminton Federation was formed in 1953. Mr. Sultan F. Hussain was the first Secretary General and Nawab Mamdot first President of Pakistan Badminton Federation, participated in first Thomas Cup 1954, when it beat Sri Lanka 9-0. Shamshad Ali, Lateef Gania, Irshad Ahmad, Menen Soares, Saeed Malik and Rustam arucha represented Pakistan. Later Prominent Pakistan Badminton players were Nazir Rajput, Akram Beg, Masood Khan, S. Naqi Mohsin, Salah ud din and Fazal Haq.

In the Ladies Elsie Hunt, Talat Sultana, Nighat Sultana, Ismat Saeed and Ghazala Wadood were prominent players having won the titles a number of times.

The golden period of Badminton was when S. Naqi Mohsin took over as Secretary General in 1973. During his period Pakistan Badminton Team put up the best ever performance in 1974 Asian Games held in Tehran, Iran. Pakistan beat Japan 3-0 and Korea 3-1 and reached the semifinals. Japan and Korea were considered Badminton Giants.

Hassan Shaheed and Javed Iqbal were sent by PBF to participate in four European International Tournaments, where they reached the quarter finals in Men's Doubles. Hassan Shaheed beat European champion in All England championships.

Tariq, Wadood, undoubtedly the best Badminton player of Pakistan was sent to peoples Republic of China with the Pakistan Badminton team. Later on Tariq Wadood reached the finals in the Badminton championship held in Beijing China in 1978.

Mr. S. Naqi Mohsin was elected Vice President, Asian Badminton Confederation and was elected member Executive Council of International Badminton Fedreation in 1975, the only Pakistani to achieve this distinction.

Unfortunately with the change in PBF office bearers, the tempo could not be maintained and the standard declined to such an extend that Pakistan Badminton Team slipped 120 in World Ranking.

In July 2002, the new Badminton Federation came into being with Saiyed Mohib Asad as its President and Aamer Hayat Khan Rokhri as its Secretary General.

S. Naqi Mohsin was elected as Senior vice President. It was with the combined efforts of these gentlemen, that a new spirit was infused in the game. During the short period of two years, Pakistan Badminton players were sent to participate in Eight International Tournament. Six All Pakistan Ranking, Tournament and two Nationals were held with cash prizes of over one hundred thousand rupees in each tournament.

Saiyed Mohib Asad  and Aamer Hayat Khan Rokhri were elected President and Secretary General of South East Asian Badminton Federation.

Wajid Ali and Asma Butt are the current National Champions. Other prominent players are Omer Zeeshan, Ahsan Qamar, Muhammad Waqas Ahmad, Tahir Ishaque, Ashraf Masih and Rizwan Asghar Rana in Men and Ayesha Akram, Usma Butt, Farzana Saleem and Saima Manzoor in Ladies.

Ayesha Akram won Bronze medal in Ladies Singles of First Islamic countries International Tournament held in Tehran in January 2005.

Rizwan Azam and Sara Khan are the National Junior Champions in Boys and Girls.