Cheques Distribution Ceremony

Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, Prime Minister of Pakistan awarded the cheques to the medal winners of 19th Commonwealth Games and Veteran Sportsmen in the ceremony held on 2nd November, 2010 at the PM’s Secretariat.

Wrestlers Azhar Hussain and Muhammad Inam, who have won gold medals for the country in the 19th Commonwealth Games, were awarded Rs.5 million each. Azhar Hussain also received Rs.2 million for winning the silver medal.

Boxers Muhammad Waseem and Haroon Shahid were given Rs.1 million each for winning bronze medals.

The services of Ghulam Raza Mohizen (Iranian Wrestling Coach attached with Pakistan Wrestling team) and Pakistani Coach Muhammad Anwar were also recognized for the first time by giving them Rs.2,50,000/-.

During his speech, the Prime Minister appreciated the efforts of the players for winning the medals for their country and also narrated the salient features of his government plan for promotion of sports.

Earlier, Minister for Sports Aijaz Hussain Jakhrani and Secretary Sports Aziz Ahmed Bilour gave briefing on the ministry’s endeavour for promotion of games.

Minister for Culture Pir Aftab Shah Jilani, PKP Sports Minister Syed Aqil Shah, a large number of MNAs and sports personalities also attended the ceremony.

Later, the Minister for Sports distributed Rs.2,00,000/- each amongst more than 50 former legends, top athletes and budding youngsters.